Redwood House is situated in Seafield Road close to the centre of Broughty Ferry. ”The Ferry” was an independent burgh until 1913 when it was annexed by the City of Dundee. It is renowned for its eclectic mix of shops, eateries and fabulous river frontage. Accommodating thirty residents in predominantly single rooms Redwood House which takes its name from the large redwood tree that dominated the driveway dates back to the early 1900s. It has been a care home for a number of years and is currently undergoing a programme of modernisation to improve facilities within the home.
Broughty Ferry is a residential suburb to the East of Dundee, Broughty Ferry is situated on the north bank of the Firth of Tay opposite Tayport in Fife to which it was formerly linked by ferry. Once a fishing village and ferry port, Broughty Ferry developed as a residential and resort town during the 19th Century when many of its fine villas were erected by jute industrialists from Dundee. Incorporated with the City of Dundee in 1913, it has a fine seafront, harbour and esplanade. Guarding the mouth of the Tay estuary, the 15th century Broughty Castle overlooks the harbour. Built in 1498, the castle was restored during the 19th century and now houses a museum featuring displays on Dundee's maritime history.
Today some of Scotland's best boutiques, galleries, gift shops, cafe's and restaurants can be found in Broughty Ferry and is an ideal location when looking to spend a few hours browsing in one of Tayside's most charming traditional town centres.